On the train to Albany

On Friday, I rode a train along the Hudson from Penn Station to Albany

It reminded me of the tile back splash in my first apartment, even ten tiles a blue steam engine

It rained on Friday in New York making the sky a gray backdrop against the water and trees

I’m a desert rat all this water seems unnatural to me. At home the color scheme in July is yellow, brown, and thirsty.

I passed mile after mile of sweeping green landscape, trees glutenous full of water, enough leftover to create pretentious marshes along the river.

I knew I should savor the view, take in the beauty and appreciate the different landscape. Mostly I considered the contrast of desert beauty how harshness can be beautiful to.

 

Leave a Reply

